Diving, diving…

Diving, diving
water is black
diving, diving
the air is scarce

*

It’s become so much
that I keep diving
barely knowing how safe
the earth is for animals
like me. I don’t know
what lies in those caverns
underwater, where is the curse
that allowed me to breathe – can I say
that I’m breathing? It’s more of a
suspended lung – I doubted them
and reap the benefits
of not being alive – I dive
I dive, deeper – what is to find
in the caves of the waves?

*

I won’t leave til I find
what I must be looking for
instincts made me dive
dive, dive,
deeper again
I won’t breathe til I find
drunkenness of the tide

*

It must be real, right? Or else
I would have died for nothing – it must be real,
isn’t it? Is it real? Bright eyes
in the dark, bright eyes
watch me out.

*

How deep even is
my memory?

Leave a comment